Holy Week: Day 4

// Silent Wednesday

This is the first year I have observed it on a personal level and I have had mixed emotions on the implications of Holy Week.

I have placed myself in the story as I  read through the Chapters and in hindsight imagine what it must have been like to be there. His Story is my story.

In observing this week I am once again reminded of my depravity, and at the same time I’m reminded of the remedy. I can’t help but ponder the cross and run towards something that calls me to Life.

The Psalmist penned it so beautifully:

As the deer longs for streams of water, so I long for you, O God.  – Psalms 42:1

If you ask me, this week only pulls out a deeper longing to know Him.  In fact, the week completely wrecks me and my heart weeps in gratitude and joy at the very thought of it all.

My longing has given me no choice but to fall deeper in Love with Jesus Christ.

My longing has me falling deeper into His story until I see myself in the pages of Grace.

My longing has lifted these heavy feet to step into the Light that shines on the deepest parts of me I have kept hidden.

The longing has me given me no choice but to follow Jesus – from the cradle to the grave, from the grave into eternal Life.

The death, burial and resurrection of Jesus is Hope for the world. Hope for the longing soul.

I encourage you to take a moment to reflect on the significance of this week that leads up to what we know as Easter Sunday and let it mean more to you than a couple days off work and school.

FullSizeRender

Leave a Reply

